Tags

,

Today I wished there were two of me; one to do the chores around the house and the other one to play all day with my son.  Nothing kills me more than hearing my little son say, “Let’s go play in my living room, Mommy”  (He calls his bedroom his “living room”) and me saying, “Not now, Honey” because I am caught up in the daily routine of laundry, dishes, and cleaning.  He asks me over and over to play with him when I am busy with housework.  Sometimes I drop what I am doing and we play together.  Sometimes I tell him that mommy is working on a chore and promises to play with him later.  And sometimes I muster up my creativity and find a way for him to help with the chore. (Which usually doubles the work involved in the chore or it ends in complete disaster like the time I gave him a rag to help me hand wash the kitchen floor.  It wasn’t long before we were both “swimming” in soapy water on our hands and knees.) 

I don’t always know what to do.  If I accept his every request to play, we would soon be living in a pig pen because the chores would never get done.  But if I always stay busy with the chores then I would be missing out on precious moments with my little guy.  I know it’s about balance; balance between doing housework for part of the day and playing with my son the other part of the day.  I’m sure it is something that every mom feels the pull and tug of each day.  For me it is something that if I go a little bit too far on either end then I am flooded with guilt.  It’s a balancing act that I wish had some kind of formula to make it perfectly balanced each day.  I guess what it all comes down to is my answer to the question, in 20 years what will matter more, that the laundry was folded and put away or that mommy and son roared and growled with plastic dinosaurs?  Put in those words, that’s easy to answer! 🙂

