Tags

, ,

There’s a truth in my past that I don’t often talk about.  I find that when I do talk about it, it makes people uncomfortable; they are not sure what to say, how to respond, and it’s a taboo subject.  The truth is that there was a suicide in my family 16 years ago.  My older brother took his own life at the very young age of 17.

Suicide has a stigma attached to it and yet it is because of this stigma that people don’t want to talk the realities of it; and so those who deal with suicidal thoughts or those who have lost a loved one to suicide suffer in silence.  The irony is that as much as I hate this stigma on suicide, I often avoid talking about suicide because I see how uncomfortable it makes people when I do talk about it.  I have recently realized that in my silence, I am only perpetuating this stigma.  The only way to combat the stigma surrounding suicide is to talk about it, educate people about depression and the suicidal mind, and help suicide survivors heal with the grace and truth that is rooted in Jesus Christ.

My parents and I have started a blog for suicide survivors.  We hope to share our story of grief and healing as well as connect with others who have lost a loved one to suicide.  If you or someone you know is a suicide survivor, there’s a place for you to connect with those who have walked that dark and very lonely road of grief.

http://wherehopesprings.wordpress.com/

